The following gig list was compiled from a variety of sources including advertisements in the Newcastle Evening Chronicle and the Courier (the weekly newspaper of Newcastle University) plus various band gig diaries.

1962

July 1962

Date Main act Other act(s)
Wed 11/07/62 Mike Carr Trio
Fri 13/07/62 Mike Carr Trio
Sat 14/07/62 Mike Carr Trio Emce 5
Wed 18/07/62 Mike Carr Trio
Fri 20/07/62 Mike Carr Trio
Sat 21/07/62 Mike Carr Trio Emce 5
Thu 26/07/62 Emce 5
Fri 27/07/62 Mike Carr Combo
Sat 28/07/62 Mike Carr Trio Emce 5
Sun 29/07/62 Mike Carr Quartet

August 1962

Date Main act Other act(s)
Fri 03/08/62 Alan Elsdon Jazz Band
Fri 11/08/62 Eric Delaney Band
Thu 16/08/62 Lenny Gatoff Quartet Emce 5
Fri 17/08/62 Lenny Gatoff Quartet
Fri 18/08/62 Tubby Hayes Quintet Lennie Gatoff Quintet
Sun 19/08/62 Tubby Hayes Quintet
Wed 22/08/62 Mike Carr Quartet
Thu 23/08/62 Emce 5
Fri 24/08/62 Mike Carr Quartet Emce 5
Sun 26/08/62 Mike Carr Combo
Wed 29/08/62 Mike Carr Combo

September 1962

Date Main act Other act(s)
Sat 01/09/62 Emce 4 Tommy Henderson (Latin)
Sun 02/09/62 Ken Colyer
Sat 06/09/62 Emce 4
Sat 15/09/62 Tubby Hayes Quintet Emce 5
Sun 16/09/62 Fat John
Sun 23/09/62 Ken Barton’s Oriole Jazzband
Sat 29/09/62 Chris Elkington Combo Tommy Henderson
Sun 30/09/62 Chris Elkington Combo

October 1962

Date Main act Other act(s)
Wed 03/10/62 Mike Carr Quartet
Thu 04/10/62 Mike Carr Quartet
Fri 05/10/62 Ronnie Ross Quartet
Sun 07/10/62 Cyril Preston Jazzmen
Thu 11/10/62 Mike Carr Trio Harold McNair Quintet
Sat 20/10/62 The Saints Jazz Band
Sun 21/10/62 Mighty Joe Young

November 1962

Date Main act Other act(s)
Fri 02/11/62 Mike Carr Combo
Sat 03/11/62 Fat John Band
Sun 04/11/62 Mighty Joe Young Band
Wed 07/11/62 River City Jazzmen
Thu 08/11/62 Emce 5
Fri 09/11/62 Ken Barton’s Oriole Jazz
Sat 10/11/62 Trinidad Steel Band Tommy Henderson LA Combo
Fri 23/11/62 Mike Carr Combo
Sat 24/11/62 Charlie Galbraith Jazzmen George Ricco’s Latin Combo
Mon 26/11/62 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Wed 28/11/62 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo Invaders
Thu 29/11/62 Betty Smith Quintet Tommy Henderson Combo
Fri 30/11/62 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo

December 1962

Date Main act Other act(s)
Sat 01/12/62 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo Emce 5
Invaders Twist Combo
Sun 02/12/62 Bruce Turner Jump Band Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Wed 05/12/62 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo Invaders
Thu 06/12/62 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Sat 08/12/62 Alan Elsdon Jazz Band Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Sun 08/12/62 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Fri 14/12/62 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Sat 15/12/62 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo Invaders
Sun 16/12/62 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Thu 20/12/62 Gamblers
Fri 21/12/62 Tubby Hayes Quintet Don Rendell Quartet
Sat 22/12/62 Tubby Hayes Quintet Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Emce 5
Mon 24/12/62 Dave Kiers Jazz Band Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Invaders
Fri 28/12/62 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Sat 29/12/62 Back O’ Town Syncopators Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Invaders
Sun 30/12/62 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo


________________________________________________________________________________________

1963

January 1963

Date Main act Other act(s)
Wed 23/01/63 Invaders Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Fri 25/01/63 Invaders Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Sat 26/01/63 Fat John Band Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Sun 27/01/63 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo

February 1963

Date Main act Other act(s)
Fri 08/02/63 Mick Ashman Band
Sat 09/02/63 Invaders Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Mon 18/02/63 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Wed 20/02/63 Invaders Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Fri 22/02/63 Tubby Hayes Quintet Tommy Henderson Combo
Sat 23/02/63 Tubby Hayes Quintet Tommy Henderson Combo

March 1963

Date Main act Other act(s)
Wed 13/03/63 Invaders Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Thu 14/03/63 Tommy Henderson Latin Combo Mike Carr Jazz Combo
Fri 15/03/63 Invaders Tommy Henderson Latin Combo
Wed 20/03/63 Invaders Tommy Henderson Latin 4
Thu 21/03/63 Mike Carr Jazz Combo
Fri 22/03/63 The Tonics
Sat 23/03/63 Melbourne New Orleans JB Invaders
Sun 24/03/63 Invaders
Wed 27/03/63 Mike Carr Combo
Fri 29/03/63 Mike Carr Combo Invaders
Sat 30/03/63 Mike Carr Combo Invaders
Sun 31/03/63 Mike Cotton Jazz Band Invaders

April 1963

Date Main act Other act(s)
Wed 03/04/63 Invaders Blue Star Jazz Band
Thu 04/04/63 Alan Price Combo
Fri 05/04/63 Solitaires Charlie Galbraith All Stars
Sat 06/04/63 Invaders Charlie Galbraith All Stars
Sun 06/04/63 Mike Carr Combo
Wed 10/04/63 Invaders Blue Star Jazzmen
Thu 11/04/63 Alan Price Combo
Sat 13/04/63 Dave Kiers Jazzmen Invaders
Mon 15/04/63 Dave Kiers Jazzmen Kon-Tors
Solitaires
Wed 17/04/63 Invaders Blue Star Jazzmen
Thu 18/04/63 Alan Price Combo
Fri 19/04/63 London City Stompers
Sat 20/04/63 Micky Ashman Jazz Band Invaders
Sun 21/04/63 Invaders Mike Carr Combo
Wed 24/04/63 Invaders Blue Star Jazz Band
Thu 25/04/63 Alan Price Combo
Fri 26/04/63 16 Strings Alan Elsdon Jazzmen
Mick Emery Folk 4
Sat 27/04/63 Blue Star Jazzmen Invaders
Sun 28/04/63 Invaders Mike Carr Combo

May 1963

Date Main act Other act(s)
Wed 01/05/63 Delemeres Blue Star Jazzmen
Thu 02/05/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Fri 03/05/63 16 Strings Dave Kiers Jazzmen
Sat 04/05/63 Invaders Dave Kiers
Sun 05/05/63 Invaders Mike Carr Combo
Wed 08/05/63 Invaders
Thu 09/05/63 Alan Price Combo
Fri 10/05/63 Ed Corrie Jazz Band
Sat 11/05/63 Invaders Ed Corrie Jazz Band
Sun 12/05/63 Mike Carr Combo Invaders
Fri 17/05/63 Invaders
Sat 18/05/63 Invaders
Sun 19/05/63 Invaders Mike Carr Combo
Fri 24/05/63 Chevrons
Sat 25/05/63 Invaders
Sun 26/05/63 Invaders Mike Carr Combo
Fri 31/05/63 Chevrons

June 1963

Date Main act Other act(s)
Sat 01/06/63 Invaders Spartan
Sun 02/06/63 Invaders
Sat 03/06/63 Delemeres A Price Combo
Sun 04/06/63 Invaders
Fri 07/06/63 Valiants
Sat 08/06/63 Invaders
Wed 19/06/63 Playboys

July 1963

Date Main act Other act(s)
Fri 26/07/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Sat 27/07/63 Invaders Von Dyke Combo
Fischer B Jazz Quartet
Tue 30/07/63 Valiants
Wed 31/07/63 Invaders

August 1963

Date Main act Other act(s)
Thu 01/08/63 Alan Price Combo
Fri 02/08/63 Mick Whitehead Jazz Band Valiants
Sat 03/08/63 Mick Whitehead Jazz Band Invaders
Von Dyke Combo
Mon 05/08/63 Neil Landon and the Burnettes
Wed 07/08/63 Invaders
Thu 08/08/63 Alan Price Combo
Fri 09/08/63 Alan Price R & B Combo Invaders
Sat 10/08/63 Invaders Von Dykes
Wed 14/08/63 Mike Carr 4 Invaders
Thu 15/08/63 Alan Price Combo
Fri 23/08/63 Alan Price Combo Valiants
Sat 24/08/63 Invaders Von Dykes
Fri 30/08/63 Valiants Von Dykes
Sat 31/08/63 Invaders Von Dykes

September 1963

Date Main act Other act(s)
Fri 06/09/63 Valiants Von Dykes
Sat 07/09/63 Invaders Von Dykes
Tues 10/09/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Weds 11/09/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Thu 12/09/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Fri 13/09/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Sat 14/09/63 Invaders Von Dykes
Alan Price R & B Combo
Sun 15/09/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Wed 18/09/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Thu 19/09/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Fri 20/09/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Sat 21/09/63 Invaders Von Dykes
Alan Price R & B Combo
Sun 22/09/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Wed 25/09/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Thu 26/09/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Fri 27/09/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Sat 28/09/63 Tubby Hayes Quintet Invaders
Alan Price R & B Combo
Sun 29/09/63 Alan Price R & B Combo

October 1963

Date Main act Other act(s)
Wed 02/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Thu 03/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Fri 04/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo Valiants
Sat 05/10/63 Invaders Valiants
Alan Price R & B Combo
Sun 06/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Wed 09/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Thu 10/10/63 Alan Price
Sat 11/10/63 Mersey Beats Alan Price
Sat 12/10/63 Invaders Von Dykes
Alan Price R & B Combo
Sun 13/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Wed 16/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Thu 17/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Fri 18/10/63 Charlie Galbraith Alan Price Combo
Valiants
Sat 19/10/63 Charlie Galbraith Valiants
Alan Price R & B Combo
Sun 20/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Wed 23/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Thu 24/10/63 Swinging Blue Jeans Alan Price Combo
Fri 25/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo Valiants
Sat 26/10/63 Invaders Valiants
Alan Price R & B Combo
Sun 27/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Wed 30/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Thu 31/10/63 Alan Price R & B Combo

November 1963

Date Main act Other act(s)
Fri 01/11/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Sat 02/11/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Sun 03/11/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Wed 06/11/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Thu 07/11/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Fri 08/11/63 Rolling Stones Alan Price Combo
Sat 09/11/63 Invaders Valiants
Alan Price R & B Combo
Sun 10/11/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Wed 13/11/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Thu 14/11/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Fri 15/11/63 Alan Price R & B Combo Valiants
Sat 16/11/63 Invaders Von Dykes
Alan Price R & B Combo
Sun 17/11/63 Alan Price R & B Combo
Mon 18/11/63 Druids
Wed 20/11/63 Von Dykes Invaders
Alan Price R & B Combo
Thu 21/11/63 Alan Price
Fri 22/11/63 Alan Price Graham Bond
Valiants
Sat 23/11/63 Johnny Dankworth Quintet Invaders
Alan Price R & B Combo
Mon 25/11/63 Pacabeats
Tuen 26/11/63 Mike Carr (leaving party)
Wed 27/11/63 Invaders Von Dykes
Fri 29/11/63 Alan Price R & B Combo Demetrius
Sat 30/11/63 Invaders Von Dykes

December 1963

Date Main act Other act(s)
Mon 02/12/63 VIPs
Fri 13/12/63 Yardbirds Dynamics
Sat 14/12/63 Invaders Von Dykes
Normans
Fri 20/12/63 Graham Bond Quartet The Animals
Sat 21/12/63 Invaders Von Dykes
Tues 24/12/63 Tony Sheverton & the Shevelles The Animals
Invaders
Thu 26/12/63 Coasters with Phil G Corbett Von Dykes
Dynamics
Fri 27/12/63 Sonny Boy Williamson The Animals
Valiants
Sat 28/12/63 Invaders Von Dykes
Mon 31/12/63 The Animals Invaders
Dynamics

________________________________________________________________________________________

1964

January 1964

Date Main act Other act(s)
Fri 03/01/64 Mersey Beats The Animals (farewell)
Sat 04/01/64 Invaders Von Dykes
Fri 10/01/64 Coasters Zoot Money’s Big Roll Band
Sat 11/01/64 Zoot Money’s Big Roll Band Invaders
Thu 16/01/64 Manhattans Von Dykes
Fri 17/01/64 Manhattans Von Dykes
Sat 18/01/64 Invaders VIPs
Thu 23/01/64 VIPs
Fri 24/01/64 The Moods Kriss Ryan & the Questions
Sat 25/01/64 VIPs Invaders
Fri 31/01/64 Andy McKinlay & C.C.Riders Von Dykes

February 1964

Date Main act Other act(s)
Sat 01/02/64 C.C.Riders Invaders
Fri 07/02/64 Graham Bond Organisation D’Beats
Sat 08/02/64 Graham Bond Organisation Johnny Dankworth
Invaders
Thu 13/02/64 Downliner Sect
Fri 14/02/64 Downliner Sect Big 3
Sat 15/02/64 Danny Storm and the Strollers Invaders
Thu 20/02/64 VIPs
Fri 21/02/64 Wayne Gibson & the Dynamic Sound VIPs
Sat 22/02/64 Wayne Gibson & the Dynamic Sound Danny Green Blue 5
Mon 24/02/64 Undertakers
Thu 27/02/64 Nashville Teens
Fri 28/02/64 Nashville Teens Dave Berry & the Cruisers
Sat 29/02/64 Corvettes Strangers

March 1964

Date Main act Other act(s)
Thu 05/03/64 Sounds of the Echoes
Fri 06/03/64 Sounds of the Echoes Liverbirds
Sat 07/03/64 Sounds of the Echoes Beat Boys
Wed 11/03/64 Mike Cadillac and the Playboys
Thu 12/03/64 Sheffields Rocking Berrys
Wed 18/03/64 Pete Best All Stars
Fri 20/03/64 Master Sounds Danny Green Blue 5
Adelphis
Sat 21/03/64 Jerry Lee Lewis Master Sounds
Invaders
Thu 26/03/64 Wild Ones
Sat 28/03/64 Johnny and the Mods Wild Ones
Danny Green Blue 5
Mon 30/03/64 Tony Sheverton & the Shevelles Wild Ones
Tue 31/03/64 Brian Diamond and the Cutters

April 1964

Date Main act Other act(s)
Wed 01/04/64 Gamblers
Thu 02/04/64 Alex Harvey Soul Band
Fri 03/04/64 Alex Harvey Soul Band Cliff Bennett & the Rebel Rousers
Sat 04/04/64 VIPs Danny Green 5
The Shames
Wed 08/04/64 Phil Feelgood and the Coasters
Thu 09/04/64 Scott Williams Combo
Fri 10/04/64 Derrie Wilkie & the Others Scott Williams Combo
Sat 11/04/64 Scott Williams Combo Derrie Wilkie & the Others
Danny Green Blue 5
Fri 17/04/64 Pat Wayne & the Beachcombers Mike Patto & the Breakaways
Sat 18/04/64 Shorty and Them Mike Patto & the Breakaways
Danny Green Blue 5
Thu 23/04/64 Vermen
Fri 24/04/64 The Animals Beat Boys
Sat 25/04/64 The Animals Von Dykes

May 1964

Date Main act Other act(s)
Fri 01/05/64 John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers Delphi 5
Sat 02/05/64 Micky Most & the Gear John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers
Von Dykes
Thu 07/05/64 Falling Leaves
Fri 08/05/64 Georgie Fame and the Blue Flames Falling Leaves
Henchmen
Sat 09/05/64 Falling Leaves Von Dykes
Danny Green 5
Fri 15/05/64 Memphis Slim Blue Sounds
Stormers
Sat 16/05/64 Downliner Sect Blue Sounds
Von Dykes
Mon 18/05/64 Phil Feelgood & the Coasters Blue Sounds
Thu 21/05/64 Nashpool Four Intruders
Fri 22/05/64 Nashpool Four Colts
Sat 23/05/64 Nashpool Four Vermen
Von Dykes
Wed 27/05/64 Escorts
Thu 28/05/64 Plebs
Fri 29/05/64 Plebs Invaders
Sat 30/05/64 Derrie Wilkie & the Others Plebs
Invaders

June 1964

Date Main act Other act(s)
Fri 05/06/64 John Lee Hooker John Mayall’s Blues Breakers
Vermen
Sat 06/06/64 Jailbirds Invaders
Von Dykes
Thu 11/06/64 Vermen
Fri 12/06/64 Artwoods Von Dykes
Sat 13/06/64 Falling Leaves Artwoods
Von Dykes
Thu 18/06/64 Nashville Teens
Fri 19/06/64 Nashville Teens Teenbeats
Sat 20/06/64 Nashville Teens Micky Finn & the Bluemen
Von Dykes
Sun 21/06/64 Nashville Teens
Thu 25/06/64 Redcaps
Fri 26/06/64 Alex Harvey Soul Band Outlines
Sat 27/06/64 Derrie Wilkie & the Others Redcaps
Von Dykes

July 1964

Date Main act Other act(s)
Thu 02/07/64 Danny Green 5
Fri 03/07/64 Outlines Downbeats
Sat 04/07/64 Alex Harvey Soul Band Phil Feelgood & the Coasters
Fri 10/07/64 John Lee Hooker Groundhogs
Kriss Ryan & the Questions
Sat 11/07/64 Falling Leaves Kriss Ryan & the Questions
Sinners
Thu 16/07/64 Moquettes
Fri 17/07/64 Junco Partners Vermen
Sat 18/07/64 Moquettes VIPs
Downbeats
Thu 23/07/64 Derrie Wilkie & the Others
Fri 24/07/64 Derrie Wilkie & the Others Continentals
Sat 25/07/64 Derrie Wilkie & the Others Continentals
Downbeats
Thu 30/07/64 Outlines
Fri 31/07/64 Mike Cotton Sound Junco Partners

August 1964

Date Main act Other act(s)
Sat 01/08/64 Banshees Outlines
Thu 06/08/64 Banshees Outlines
Fri 07/08/64 Blue Sounds Junco Partners
Sat 08/08/64 Plebs Outlines
Thu 13/08/64 Junco Partners
Fri 14/08/64 Spencer Davis Group Derrie Wilkie & the Others
Sat 15/08/64 Junco Partners Derrie Wilkie & the Others
Thu 20/08/64 Impulsions
Fri 21/08/64 Lorraine Grey & the Chaperones Impulsions
Thu 27/08/64 Vermen
Fri 28/08/64 Teesside Ravens Outlines
Sat 29/08/64 VIPs Plerks

September 1964

Date Main act Other act(s)
Thu 03/09/64 Night Aires
Fri 04/09/64 Alex Harvey Soul Band Colts
Sat 05/09/64 Blue Sounds Alex Harvey Soul Bands
Thu 10/09/64 Beat Boys
Fri 11/098/64 Copy Cats Beat Boys
Sat 12/09/64 Pat Wayne & the Beachcombers Junco Partners
Thu 17/09/64 Danny Green 5
Fri 18/09/64 Victor Brox Blues Train Phil Feelgood & the Coasters
Sat 19/09/64 Victor Brox Blues Train Junco Partners
Thu 24/09/64 Downbeats
Fri 25/09/64 Kirkbys Blue Sounds
Sat 26/09/64 Kirkbys Blue Sounds

October 1964

Date Main act Other act(s)
Thu 08/10/64 Barbarians with Prince Khan
Fri 09/10/64 Barbarians with Prince Khan Johnny Hudson Hi-4
Thu 15/10/64 Von Dykes
Fri 16/10/64 Boomerangs VIPs
Sat 17/10/64 Boomerangs VIPs
Thu 22/10/64 Von Dykes
Fri 23/10/64 Aztecs Artwood Combo
Sat 24/10/64 Artwood Combo Aztecs
Tue 27/10/64 Junco Partners
Thu 29/10/64 VIPs
Fri 30/10/64 Ivan Dee Juniors Habits
Sat 31/10/64 Ivan Dee Juniors Habits

November 1964

Date Main act Other act(s)
Mon 02/11/64 Junco Partners
Thu 05/11/64 VIPs Junco Partners
Fri 06/11/64 Spencer Davis Group Falling Leaves
Sat 07/11/64 Spencer Davis Group Falling Leaves
Sun 08/11/64 Outlines
Thu 12/11/64 Kriss Ryan & the Questions
Fri 13/11/64 Bits And Pieces Kriss Ryan & the Questions
Junco Partners
Sat 14/11/64 Bits And Pieces Kriss Ryan & the Questions
Junco Partners
Sun 15/11/64 Junco Partners
Tue 17/11/64 Downbeats
Wed 18/11/64 Junco Partners
Thu 19/11/64 Outlines
Fri 20/11/64 Jimmy Reed John Lee’s Groundhogs
Junco Partners
Sat 21/11/64 Mr Smith Sum People Junco Partners
Tue 24/11/64 Junco Partners
Thu 26/11/64 Clayton Squares
Fri 27/11/64 Clayton Squares Dawn Breakers

December 1964

Date Main act Other act(s)
Tue 01/12/64 Junco Partners
Thu 03/12/64 Downbeats
Fri 04/12/64 Spencer Davis Group The Keys
Sat 05/12/64 Spencer Davis Group The Keys
Sun 06/12/64 Junco Partners
Tue 08/12/64 Junco Partners
Wed 09/12/64 Junco Partners
Thu 10/12/64 The Manchester Playboys
Fri 11/12/64 The Manchester Playboys The Continentals
Sat 12/12/64 Victor Brox Blues Train The Continentals
Thu 17/12/64 Outlines
Fri 18/12/64 Alex Harvey Soul Band Junco Partners
Sat 19/12/64 Alex Harvey Soul Band Junco Partners
Thu 24/12/64 Junco Partners VIPs
Sat 26/12/64 Downbeats VIPs
Thu 31/12/64 Tony Colton & the Crawdaddies Outlines
Junco Partners